Skip to content
October 7, 2010 / paperkids

Islands

Emma had a dentist appointment recently and her disorganized mother mixed up the time..and actually the day as well. Not hard to believe if you know me. But they were able to squeeze her in at a later time. We had a few hours to spare and Jared was coming home from work so the three of us decided to go to Emma’s favorite place to eat : Islands.
It was really nice as it felt unexpected and special, not to mention quieter since Hayden wasn’t with us. HA! I had the iPad so I asked Emma if she was ready for the dentist.

Emma: Will you use your rare talents?

Me: “What do you mean?”

Emma: with the iPad

Me: “What do you mean – with the dentist?”

Emma: yes

Me: “What do you mean my rare talents? You are the one with the incredible talent.”

I smiled at her whimsical choice of words. She seemed to be teasing with me a little. Jared and I continued talking about the dentist and the daily affairs as we jabbered on and on like we usually do. Sometimes, I have to remind myself that she is listening to every word we say even when she doesn’t appear to be listening.

She was devouring her chicken tenders and had one in each hand as I started in on the questions.

Me: “Are you nervous about seeing the dentist? Do you think you’ll communicate with him?”

I held up the iPad.  Emma, ever so slowly, put both chicken tenders down and reached up.

Emma: I am trying to eat

Jared and I both let out a laugh. My God, she was right. I was bombarding her with questions with her hands and mouth full of food.

Jared proceeded to let out a yawn and started talking about how tired he was. That conversation went on for a couple minutes. Then Emma reached out to the iPad.

Emma: Rest in God

Me: “Oh, Emma. I love that.”

Including her in our conversations is something that is so new for us. It still feels surreal. It takes time for her to spell everything out at this time. I hope that the effort she has to put forth in order to keep with us babblers is worth it to her. I guess when I consider what this has given her so far – being able to eat at her favorite restaurant, comment on a conversation, or share a bit of her spunky humor – I know that it’s worth the difficulty.

Me: “Emma, what do you like about Islands anyway?”

Emma: the palm trees

Tonight we decided to take the kids out to eat while our car was in the shop.

Me:  “Where would you like to go eat, Emma?”

Emma:  I prefer Islands

Me:  “Are you sure you don’t want to go to Kabuki’s instead?” (okay, obviously that’s where I wanted to go!)

Emma:  I am partial to Islands

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lisa / Oct 7 2010 5:41 pm

    I love this post! What a special time the three of you had! I love Emma’s spirituality, and I love her extensive, eloquent vocabulary!

  2. Lynn States / Oct 7 2010 10:01 pm

    Emma – you are a breath of fresh air; a very cool soul! And we’ll have to get your mom to take us both to Islands the next time I’m there.

  3. gloria cassidy / Oct 8 2010 4:09 am

    There are alot of people I like being with in this world. I am partial to Emma and the other people in your talented family. Love to all of you.
    I’m imagining right now that we are looking up and watching the wind move the leaves in your front yard tree. I like that tree.

  4. jan murray / Oct 8 2010 2:59 pm

    i love this sight!to read emma’s words is awesome!i can’t image how your day is filled with the love of God.i just cried.kiss emma for me. tell her aunt jan loves her. got to go,i will try to email later.have a wonderful day!kisses and hugs to all your family!jan

  5. Candy / Oct 8 2010 4:42 pm

    Emma is so full of life and has a great sense of humor! Sabra, you didn’t see that one coming, did you???! hahaha! I hope she continues to spontaneously communicate like that!

  6. Molly / Oct 9 2010 7:41 pm

    I’m partial to islands too, and palm trees are my favorite! : )
    Love you all, Aunt Molly

Leave a Reply

