Skip to content
August 31, 2010 / paperkids

Heaven

A couple of weeks ago I asked Emma if she had been thinking of any more poems she’d like to share.   I know that when I write a poem, I actually have it in my head for a while before I begin to write.  I had a feeling somehow that she did, too.  I held up the letter board:

Me:  “Do you have any more poems in mind that you want me to write down?”

Emma:  yes

Me:  “That’s great!  What’s the  name of your poem?  Do you know what it is?”

Emma:  Heaven

My pulse spiked.   I was so curious to have her spell it out, but she was off to school and I decided to wait a couple of days during a quiet moment to ask her for the rest of it.

Watching her spell anything out feels like a dream.  Every word is thrilling.  Where will her fingers go? …  I’m always filled with wonder.   She began to spell out her poem.   I watched her fingertips flow over the letters so easily –  faster than usual.  I was in  awe as I read her words.   It was more than beautiful, the word I praised it with.  I really didn’t even know what to say……I’m not sure I have words for this one.  Some things are beyond words…

Me:   “When you say, ‘I’, who do you mean?”

Emma:  God

All that week I couldn’t stop thinking about her poem.  It was hard to even sleep because my mind was consumed –  deeply affected.    A couple days after she spelled it out, I just had to ask her some questions about it.

Me:  “Emma, why did you use the word I instead of God in your poem?”

Emma:  So the reader will feel close to God

Me:  “Why did you call the poem Heaven?”

Emma:  I am your reason for everything so I am your heaven

Wow.

Me:  “That is really profound, Emma.  Has God ever spoken to you?”

Emma:  yes

Me:  “Could you hear him with your ears?”

Emma:  yes

Me:  “Really?  What did he say?”

Emma:  I will always take care of you

19 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rita / Aug 31 2010 1:47 pm

    Emma, as I read your poem today a thought came to my mind about hero’s. Then I realized YOU are my HERO! I am so awe struck with your determination in life and all the hurtles you have to cross over and yet you are doing it! I love the life of God that’s in you, Emma. You and your family have blessed me with this blog and I always look forward to reading how God is revealing himself to us through you all. YOU are a BLESSING !

  2. Amber / Aug 31 2010 2:49 pm

    I am glad you put this story up! I love her poems!

  3. pat henshaw / Aug 31 2010 5:44 pm

    Emma brings Heaven into focus as our home … our abiding place.

    Thanks for the reminder, Emma.

    I thank God for the encouragement you both are to me.

  4. Lynn States / Aug 31 2010 11:42 pm

    Beautifully simple; simply true. I love your words about heaven, Emma. And I will think about them for many days to come.

  5. Laura Tacinelli / Sep 1 2010 12:44 am

    Wow – gave me chills! Emma – what a wonderful poem.

  6. Candy / Sep 1 2010 2:19 am

    I’ve always known that God has been talking to you, Emma. That’s why you have so much to share about God, your interest in the Bible, and your beautiful poems. Thank you for relaying His message through your beautiful poem. May He continue to be with you, guide you, and bless you.

  7. Jenn Abbey / Sep 1 2010 3:51 am

    Love her spirit – she is amazing ! Her mind must be going a million miles per hour – good for her !!

  8. Camille / Sep 1 2010 5:22 am

    Emma, I wish I could hear God as clearly as you can, I really do. I envy you.

  9. Paola / Sep 1 2010 4:58 pm

    I’m speechless!

  10. Julie Wolfe / Sep 1 2010 4:58 pm

    Emma, in so many ways you have reaffirmed my belief in God. I feel so lucky to know you.

  11. marcela / Sep 1 2010 7:03 pm

    beautifull! i really needed ready it today 🙂

  12. Grandma / Sep 2 2010 1:22 am

    We are such pitiful two – legged beings, struggling with our boundaries, our borders. Along comes our girl who has no barriers self and Source. Whatever name we use, we feel the purity, innocence, and love. The Truth, Beauty, and Holiness.
    This reminds me of something that happened when my father took his journey out of this world.I was sitting in a room with a friend, when suddenly the room became bright, brighter, brightest. And, enveloped in this golden light, a feeling incomparable, so much joy. I found out the next day that he had passed at that moment and he was showing me what is. Sometimes we forget.
    I am reminded by what Emma has written that this beauty is always there; it is only our pitiful way of perceiving that keeps us from knowing. I am grateful for this reminder, and for her stunning ability to hear what many of us cannot. Thank you.

  13. Becca Herd / Sep 2 2010 6:35 am

    Hi Emma! I’m not sure if you remember me, but I was one of your Special Olympics coaches for gymnastics this past spring. I think everything that has happened is so AMAZING and I’m so happy to know that God has such a special place in your heart. Your words are so inspiring and I really look forward to reading more of your blog articles. Continue to be the loving and bright girl you are! 🙂

    Love always,
    Becca Herd

  14. gloria cassidy / Sep 6 2010 4:03 pm

    Emma, I struggle with believing that God cares about me. You have given me hope. Thank you

  15. Molly / Sep 6 2010 8:06 pm

    Emma,

    This does not suprize me at all, i feel like ive been expecting it. This awsome poem of yours.

    And I am so happy to tell you how many walks and talks your mom, uncle Tim and I had when they were young, we talked about God, Jesus, Heaven, animals, friends, family, etc.. We walked on paths, off the paths, trails, sidwalks, through trees, in trees, near the water, in the water, lol .

    And with all faith I say I agree with you 100% God is our reason for everything!
    I can hardly wait to be reuntited with your uncle Timothy, for him to see your grandma Lynn and Papa John, your mom, dad and you and Hayden – it will be Joy unspeakable and full of glory then!!!

    Keep the faith, keep looking up!!! Love always, Aunt Molly

  16. Mrs4444 / Sep 12 2010 3:29 pm

    Beautiful. What a blessing–technology…Incredible, really. I’m happy for you both.

  17. Katie / Oct 30 2010 3:17 am

    Hey Guys!
    Its Katie from Carousel Ranch. Thank you so much for introducing me to youre blog : ) Ive been letting out many tears reading through all emma’s poems and everything else. Emma has such a special place in my heart and I love working with her and reading through this has just been incredible to me : ) Cant wait to read more!

    • paperkids / Oct 30 2010 3:37 am

      Katie, thank you so much for your comment. You have been so wonderful for Emma and she is so blessed to be a part of Carousel. She typed out: placing me on a horse helps to center me. It’s been so great for her and has really helped her in many ways! We love you!

  18. jan murray / Dec 3 2010 10:14 pm

    emma this is your aunt jan from texas.i love your poem!i love you.it has been a long time since i have seen you.i was thrilled about your poem.it is beautiful!!!i hope to see you again some day.tell mama i love her too.hugs and kisses!

Leave a Reply

