Skip to content
August 14, 2010 / paperkids

Message from Emma

I may not have a video camera, but I do have an iPhone with video!  And after many, many failed uploads onto my ancient, maxed-out pc, I finally was able to download a video.  The quality and sound could be better since I had to perch it on some books and stuffed animals, but I just have to share it.  Emma agrees!  

As you can see, I give her a little support on her arm and I help her to “reset” her hand and fingers before each letter.  I think the effort and concentration she puts into this is  evident.  How we take for granted that we can so easily control our bodies – we don’t  give a second thought to a simple thing like hitting a letter key on a keyboard.  She even put a period after “hope”.   I’m so proud of her ~ and blessed by her thoughtfulness  towards other children like herself.  I’m still in awe! 

Disclaimer:  Emma does NOT like Twilight!  That would be my shirt that is way too small (probably because it’s made for a teenager)  She was not really thrilled about having this shirt on in the video.   I told her I’d clear that up!  HA!

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Candy / Aug 14 2010 12:59 am

    What a wonderful message! She’s amazing!!

  2. Christine / Aug 14 2010 1:12 am

    I dont even have the words to describe how beautiful this video is.

  3. Katie Cameron / Aug 14 2010 5:53 am

    Me too Emma. You are giving me so much hope. I love you child.

  4. Bridget / Aug 14 2010 8:59 am

    Sabra, so beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing-your blog is wonderful. You are such an incredible person and mom! You are so strong and I just want to hug you!!! Love you so much. Emma is amazing. Do you mind if I share your blog with some of my friends? Your journey will help so many people have strength and hope. LOVE YOU, me

    • smurphy3 / Aug 14 2010 3:04 pm

      I wouldn’t mind at all! Thanks so much, Bridget!

  5. Pat Henshaw / Aug 14 2010 3:26 pm

    I think she spells better than any of my kids at that age. Keep it up!

  6. gloria cassidy / Aug 14 2010 11:11 pm

    I showed my family how well you are talking on paper. I am so proud of you. Giving people hope is a great gift. It saves lives, creates sanity, causes peace to riegn in spite of chaos.
    Gloria/Tug eee.

  7. Grandma / Aug 15 2010 2:18 am

    I could see her thinking and searching for the letter she finally chose.
    She looks upward as if to pick from the blackboard in her memory.
    There’s a treasure in her mind and this is a catalyst for its release. I am so grateful that this tool came to you.
    xo

  8. Lynn States / Aug 15 2010 12:23 pm

    I am so proud of you, Emma!

  9. Robin Zimmer / Aug 27 2010 3:40 am

    Sabra, I worked with your family a few years ago and heard from the grapevine that your two little ones are learning so much!! I had to come on here to see for myself!!

    WOW!!! Emma has put me to tears and has amazed me! She is a true heroine in my eyes!! I teach high school kids with Autism now and I will keep your family and Emma in my head and heart now when I’m with my students.

    Thank you so much for sharing!! Robin Zimmer

  10. Felicity / Aug 27 2010 9:45 am

    So unbelievably Inspiring.

  11. Polliana / Sep 5 2010 2:29 am

    Emma é especial…não por suas limitações, ao contrário, por sua capacidade absurda se se relacionar com Deus e consequentemente e ter compaixão pelos outros! Justamente o que falta a muitos de nós…
    Um beijo, Emma
    Do Brasil, pra você! =)
    p.s; Tia Paola, traduza isso pra ela, por favor…rsrsrs
    Bjus

  12. Paola / Sep 5 2010 3:11 pm

    I was asked to translate the msg above 🙂
    And here it is:

    “Emma is special not because her limitations, but rather for her incredible capacity to have such relationship with God and as a result such compation for people. And that’s what is lacking in many of us…”

    Kisses for you Emma.
    From Brazil 🙂

    • Polliana / Sep 5 2010 3:45 pm

      Brigadaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, amigaaaaaaaa!!!
      Paola is my oficial translater here… 🙂
      Kisses, Emma! I’ve been dream about you and, when it happens, God talk to me so deeply! You’re lovely!
      Polli

  13. Paola / Sep 5 2010 3:14 pm

    I mean “compassion”! :):):) Sorry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

