Skip to content
August 13, 2010 / paperkids

A yellow backpack

As usual, I lagged behind on the first day of school.  I felt the nerves this morning due to all the change.  Hayden is starting kindegarten in a new school and Emma is off to fourth grade in a new school.  And of course, I saved all my big school shopping until last night  – the day before school!

Me:  Emma, what color backpack do you want me to get you?

Emma:  yellow

Of course!!   Yellow is, after all, her favorite color.  When you start looking though, you realize that they’re aren’t too many yellow backpacks.. .or yellow anything for that matter!

In target,  I just stood there staring at all the backpacks.  It was a little overwhelming.  I was just looking for yellow.  I decided on this checker black and yellow one mainly because a  teenage girl and her mother said they liked it and  almost bought it.  I guess she thought it was “cool” and I am completely clueless.  This has been the first shopping trip I’ve made where I felt like I was buying something “for” Emma.  Would she like it?  It was a unique experience for me, much as it must have been for Emma.  After all these years,  she would finally be able to say what she wanted and whether she liked it or not.  Wow!  I guess the pressure’s on now.  Better make sure it’s cool enough!  As I felt the frenzy of determined tweens and self-assured teens all around me, I couldn’t help but have  flashbacks of  how uncool I felt in childhood. 

When we got home, I was pretty excited to show her the somewhat yellow backpack and even though she didn’t appear  to notice, when I asked her, she said she liked it!  Whew!

Later I was showing it off to Jared, twirling it around – unzipping all the different compartments..

Me:  Isn’t this cool? 

Jared:  Yeah, that’s great!  Really cute!   Do you like it Emma? 

I went over to Emma and sat down.  She reached her hand out to the keyboard and I grabbed it lightly so she could point, getting ready to read what she wanted to say…

Emma:  Take off the tags

LOL!  I quickly ripped the tags off.  She doesn’t miss a thing.  Something tells me I’ve left a tag or two on before.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amber / Aug 13 2010 11:38 am

    HILARIOUS! That is a typical Sabra moment I believe! Love you guys!

  2. Lisa Flaherty / Aug 13 2010 2:11 pm

    Well, “Take off the tags” implies it’s a keeper! Well done, mama! I hadn’t really thought about how yellow is under-represented in merchandise! But that backpack is VERY cool! Emma, you have excellent taste!

  3. gloria cassidy / Aug 13 2010 3:12 pm

    That is a super cool back pack.

  4. Molly / Aug 13 2010 3:55 pm

    This is so funny, i think you were lucky – blessed – to have found a backpack with yellow. U know i remember U as a kid and I thought U were “very cool” !!!
    But I didnt think I was either, so I think that’s as normal as anything for that age…

    ps. take a nap today!!! Love, Mol

  5. Grandma / Aug 15 2010 2:07 am

    Way cool backpack. Emma’s very visual. I’ve been reading Temple Grandin’s book Animals in Translation, where she talks about how animals and people with autism think in pictures, not words. And where detail is what animals notice, as well as people (like herself) with autism.
    Emma notices the details; how cool and wonderful is that?
    Love you all, love the backpack.

  6. Jen / Aug 26 2010 6:36 pm

    Too cute. That would be what Jack would say first! Reminds me of my nephew too who LOVED yellow.

Leave a Reply

