Skip to content
August 4, 2010 / paperkids

Type Return

Last week, when Emma told me she wanted me to put one of Tito’s poems on here, I got curious as to whether she had thought of any poems herself.

Me:  “Do you have any poems you would like to share?  Do you want to write one?  You can spell it out and I’ll write it down for you.”

Emma:  Yes

Me:  “Do you have  a name in mind for your poem? ”

Emma:  Type Return

Wow!  So I guess she had been thinking of one because it was a really quick response.   And she kept on going, pointing out the words.  I was blown away (AGAIN!!)  I think it’s beautiful…..

I asked her if I could share it and she typed “yes”.  When I asked her if she wanted to add a picture, she  typed “the universe” and picked out this picture.

 

Whoa!  Needless to say, I felt such a powerful love and thankfulness to God, who has been with this child before she was even born, is with her now, and in times to come.  Just knowing that has given me such indescribable comfort.  It is such a testimony to His faithfulness, in not only Emma’s life, but my own.

Me:  “Emma, how did you get to be so spiritual?”

Emma:  I am a child of God

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rhea / Aug 4 2010 9:05 pm

    I feel honored to have witnessed Emma while she was finishing up this beautiful poem. This is definitely the beginning of many inspirational and creative moments to come for her as a young artist and writer. Thank you for sharing your gift with us Emma… We’re all so proud and happy for you!!!

    • smurphy3 / Aug 12 2010 8:09 pm

      We love you, Rhea. And SO lucky to have you)

  2. Grandma / Aug 5 2010 8:24 pm

    oh the beauty!

  3. gloria cassidy / Aug 6 2010 3:29 pm

    Are Emma’s words the catalyst needed in my life to let me allow/trust God to help me. Please keep posting every little word you write is touching the universe and making a difference

    • smurphy3 / Aug 12 2010 8:10 pm

      I feel the same Gloria. And I feel you have been a great catalyst and inspiration for our whole family.

  4. Rita Hooper ( Amber Chatham's Mom ) / Aug 7 2010 5:47 pm

    I am so moved that I don’t have a vocabulary eloquent enough to describe how I feel. Thank you so much for letting us in on your miracle’s as they progress. This is a real time movie that I want to be in on and pray for as you and your family walk this out. Amber speaks so fondly of you. Thank You again for sharing your personal lives with us. Thank you Emma!

    • smurphy3 / Aug 12 2010 8:12 pm

      Thanks so much, Rita! I feel so blessed to be a part of this miracle. It has brought Emma and I both so much joy!

  5. Lynn States / Aug 7 2010 7:58 pm

    Emma – your writing touches me in the most profound way.

  6. tonya / Aug 8 2010 1:25 am

    WOW Emma, Your poem is insightful.

  7. Julie Wolfe / Aug 9 2010 5:47 am

    Whoa. I mean…. WHOA. Emma, just when I think I can’t be blown away by you any more than I already am… I read your beautiful words. I am so moved by you, Emma. You’re amazing.

    • smurphy3 / Aug 12 2010 8:13 pm

      Thanks so much, Julie! Aren’t our kids so wonderful. What a blessing!

  8. Julie Winkle / Aug 10 2010 12:26 am

    Wow! This is so wonderful Emma! I can’t wait to see you at school this week.

    Noah (and mom & dad Winkle too)

  9. Renee / Aug 12 2010 6:18 pm

    Wow. I just love this blog ~ and all of you 🙂

    • smurphy3 / Aug 12 2010 8:14 pm

      Thanks so much, girl:) And thanks for sharing it. It feels kinda like it’s writing itself, you know? I love you, too.

  10. Candy / Aug 13 2010 5:08 am

    Emma, that was such a beautiful poem! I love it! I know God is always with you and guiding you.

  11. Terry York II / Aug 13 2010 12:02 pm

    Thank You Emma!

  12. Sarah / Aug 25 2010 7:04 am

    What an amazing way with words she has. I’m so impressed.

Leave a Reply

